"s.ytimg.com wants to set a cookie" - Err... who?

I was in Wikipedia today and and got a cookie request (from Firefox) for s.ytimg.com - of course I blocked it, third party cookies for cryptic domains are usually questionable. But the fact that it turned up while I was in Wikipedia made me wonder what it was.

So I looked into it...  then I unblocked it.

 

For those that don't know, I always surf with all cookie warnings turned on - mainly because I object to many - but not all - third party cookies on principle. Sure... show me advertising if you must - but I choose not to reveal my browsing habits to you.

So, what is s.ytimg.com?

$ whois ytimg.com
Registrant:
        Google Inc. (DOM-1723647)
        1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
        Mountain View CA 94043
        US
    Domain Name: ytimg.com
        Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
        Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
        Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
    Administrative Contact:
        DNS Admin (NIC-14290822)  Google Inc.
        1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
        Mountain View CA 94043
        US
        dns-admin@google.com
        +1.6506234000
        Fax- +1.6506188571
    Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
        DNS Admin (NIC-14290820)  Google Inc.
        1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
        Mountain View CA 94043
        US
        dns-admin@google.com
        +1.6506234000
        Fax- +1.6506188571
    Created on..............: 2007-Dec-11.
    Expires on..............: 2008-Dec-11.
    Record last updated on..: 2007-Dec-11 14:40:32.
    Domain servers in listed order:
    DNS1.SJL.YOUTUBE.COM
    DNS2.SJL.YOUTUBE.COM

 

Oh! It's a you tube domain!

$ nslookup s.ytimg.com
Non-authoritative answer:
s.ytimg.com          canonical name = static.cache.l.google.com.
Name:                  static.cache.l.google.com
Address:              74.125.4.21

 

Yep, it really is, it's even got a canonical name in Google. Hmm... the name implies a cache, and the ‘yt' in ‘ytimg.com' is probably for You Tube, and if so the ‘img' probably stands for image.

A You Tube image cache? So it would seem. 

A quick google URL search turns up lots of image tags that include it, I also found a couple of discussions:

 

Given that these references within the ytimg domain are probably being generated on the fly, I suspect that the code behind them is probably doing something with the cookies (including the obvious tracking).

So I have decided to unblock the whole ytimg.com domain, although in my case I have set the domain to "Allow for Session" in Firefox.

Comments

s.ytimg.com

Hello!

I was watching a youtube video titled "History Channel - secret societies - part 3"

when a small window popped up asking if s.ytimg.com could access my camera and microphone. SLIGHT PROBLEM i dont have a camera or microphone on my pc!!. So whats going on please.

Thanks

Gavin, I actually have a

Gavin,

I actually have a separate post on this, but in short it is a feature of Flash.  It possible to disable the behaviour, see the following for more information:

http://www.keiths-place.com/blogs/keith/2008/stop-youtube-sytimgcom-vide...

flash player on youtube

this just happened today...why is internet explorer not allowing me to see videos on youtube and gives this message:
"Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player."
when i go to download Adobe's Flash Player on ie, i get a runaround and am unable to get it.
on mozilla, everything is fine but i like ie quality of sound, much better than mozilla and more user friendly (in my opinion).

sly accessssss / shhhhhh

very interesting to see I'm not the only person who has noticed this.

If on youtube right click on

If on youtube right click on the time bar for video and you will see an area where you can allow or block s.ytimg.com from accessing your camera/mic

Interesting information

Interesting information there. I was on youtube and it suddenly tried to access my camera/microphone. Kind of creepy.

YouTube (s.ytimg.com) Video Camera Access

For those interested, I have a separate article on the attempted camera and microphone access that can happen on YouTube (and other Flash based sites).

See 'Stop YouTube (s.ytimg.com) Video Camera Spying' for more information.

Camera/microphone access?

A website that managed to attempt to access your camera/microphone!?  You have got my attention.

Do you have any details?

it is adobe Flash player

it is adobe Flash player settings that allow camera and mic access. Right click the video display and select advanced, choose camera settings and you will see the choices.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <i> <b> <br> <hr>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Highlight terms in this textarea.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is used to make sure you are a human visitor and to prevent spam submissions. It is a five digit code, if you can't work it out you can try a different code by reloading the page.
Image CAPTCHA
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image.